Struggling with Sandy and Other Dilemmas

 

New York Times photoI wrote a post yesterday about how artists can flourish at Christmas fairs and markets, and while I think it’s an important post on making a living as an independent creative, I’m also very aware of the struggles others are having. I was reminded of it yesterday and today when I came across the photos published in the New York Times online.

Residents in New York are still struggling and my heart goes out to them. I know from experience how difficult it is to live without without heat, lights or hot water. For me, it was difficult to live on the fringes, it was also frustrating and scary. I’m not comparing my situation to any one else’s, I just want to say there is a way to help.

While at the Make It show I noticed one booth that had a sign which read “10% of sales will be donated to….”

Sometimes when disaster strikes in other parts of the world, it can be frustrating because an immediate way to help is not always apparent. The booth at Make It reminded me of how businesses, artists and other creative’s can help; a small portion of sales can be donated to a worthy cause. A cause you strongly believe in.

Sometimes it’s difficult to know where to start. North Americans are so fortunate compared to many in the world. An acquaintance of mine told me of her formula for giving; she donates to an organization of her choice locally, nationally and internationally. This has always stuck with me and I use it as my guide too.

We may not be able to help everyone, but one drop at a time, over time, can create an ocean.

Until next time,

Filio

2 thoughts on “Struggling with Sandy and Other Dilemmas

  1. Very true and inspiring.

Please share. Inspire others and increase your visibility through participation.

