The Power of Expectation

I think I might be a hoarder. I tend to keep all kinds of written documents and notes, long after they’ve out lived their usefulness.

My “I may need that one day” attitude inevitably leads to a crucial purging necessity, which means I have to re-examine what I have in my stack in order to decide what to give up.  So, the cycle continues. Create. Keep. Purge.

A purging event will often lead to an unscheduled reading session which usually leads to spontaneous flinching as I read. I can’t help it. I obsess. I think about how I should have paid more attention to the editing process. I’m my own worst enemy. I trip over myself and fall short of my expectations.

So, I completely understand why artists recoil from writing about their work or explaining verbally to others what they’re working on. Artists are used to communicating through a visual language. If writing hasn’t been part of an artist’s everyday work experience, it can be a challenge.

Heck, even speaking can be a challenge for most of us. Think about how often there are misunderstandings in everyday conversation! Communication is kind of a big deal.

How to Find Your Happy Place

I’ve read that to become a good writer you need to make a habit of writing and if you don’t have anything to write about, no problem, just start writing anyway. The words will come, the ideas will flow. You may end up meandering all over the place without a cohesive message, but that’s ok because you can edit to your heart’s content. Editing should be your best friend.

If editing is your best friend, practice is your road to discovery, the discovery of your own voice and style. You may think that you have nothing to say, but once you start writing you’ll realize that you have plenty to say. This works for formal writing projects, such as writing statements and bio’s, as well as less formal blogging projects.

If you haven’t discovered this already, you will find that one of the hardest subjects to write about is you. As a creative professional you will need to discuss and articulate your background and the principles and inspirations that guide your practice.

The best way to do this is to read and discover through practice and note how others use language in their field. I like to read Copyblogger’s blog because their specialty is about the art of persuasion through copy. They do a great job of providing all kinds of interesting content.

You should also check out Erika Napoletano. She is the writer behind the blog Redhead Writing. That girl uses her words like a samurai warrior. She’s swift and precise with plenty of personality.

If you want to unleash the writing tiger within, mapping key points is useful and creative. This is one of my favorite methods. Sometimes I don’t even finish the map before I find the inspiration and direction I need to start writing about a topic.

One of my crazier methods for getting ideas out of my head and on paper is walking around and talking to myself. It may be outrageous idea for some, but hey, it works for me.

Connect as many senses as you can while working through a project, this will create a richer experience for you and your neurons will start snapping into action like fireworks on Canada Day. It seems to work for me and according to research, it can work for you too.

Go ahead, leave a comment. Don’t be shy. Do you have a favorite writing method to share?

4 thoughts on “The Power of Expectation

  1. Absoluter genialer Blog. Werde jetzt öfter die Seite besuchen Vielen Dank und Grüsse aus Bonn

  2. […] The Power of Expectation briefly identifies a couple of resources I benefitted from in the blog sphere. It also outlines some useful tips for tackling a writing project. […]

  3. […] mentioned in another post that I’m very much into taking notes. Notes are my visual reminder of what I want to accomplish […]

Please share. Inspire others and increase your visibility through participation.

